Birthday Ribs for Cynthia!

Good day rib fans!  Well I finally decided it was time to try a new rib recipe – the Fred Flintstone ribs work really, really well and I’ve had nothing but compliments with them but in true Roman-esq fashion, the quest for perfect pork ribs continues.  Last Sunday we hosted Cynthia and Lucy (our regular guests) to an impromptu BBQ, only to find out it was Cynthia’s 26th birthday!  Happy Birthday darling!

Anyway, I digress.  I purchased two slabs of baby back ribs from Hubers over the weekend and I used this method as explained by none other than “Dr.BBQ” and here’s how it goes:

Dr. BBQ’s famous baby back ribs recipe

  • 2 slabs baby back ribs, membrane on back of ribs removed
  • 2 cups honey
  • 1 1/2 cups apple juice
  • 2 cups of Dr. BBQ’s Sweet and Sticky Glaze (see below)
  • Dr. BBQ’s rub (see below)

Prepare your cooker for indirect grilling at 275 degrees Fahrenheit, using cherry and hickory wood for flavor – (we used mesquite chunks – about 4 in total). Season the ribs with the rub. Put the ribs into the smoker, meaty site up for two hours. (this was about an hour too long for my ribs – learning point for next time – NEVER USE ANY OTHER RIBS THAN THOSE OF OUR FRIEND THE PIG LADY…Huber’s ribs are good but way too skinny!) Flip the ribs and cook another hour. Remove the ribs to a platter. (Again, use your gut feel here and you’ll be able to tell when the first stage is done!)

Take a double-thick piece of heavy-duty aluminum foil (big enough to wrap a slab of ribs), and slather about 1/3 cup of honey on each sheet, spreading it where the ribs will lie. Place the ribs meaty side down and add more honey on top of the slab. Now crimp the edges of the foil and pour 1/2 cup of apple juice in the bottom. Do this for all three slabs. Loosely close the packets around the ribs and lay them back in the cooker.

Cook another 90 minutes. Carefully unwrap the packets and take out the ribs. Place the ribs back on the cooker, raising the temperature to 350 degrees. Brush with the glaze or barbecue sauce and flip several times for another 20 minutes.

Dr. BBQ’s rub (combine) NOW THIS WAS YUMMY!!!

  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons granulated garlic
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons granulated onion
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried thyme
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground nutmeg

Dr. BBQ’s Sweet and Sticky Glaze
This is what Dr. BBQ always uses to finish his ribs and chicken at BBQ cookoffs around his country.

  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup dark molasses
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon mace
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon Liquid Smoke (Optional)
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 tablespoon hot sauce of choice

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan, stir well, and simmer for 15 minutes to reduce and thicken – a great sauce indeed!

All in all I would say the ribs turned out about a 5/10 to be honest and as anyone knows, you’ve got to try these things a few times before you get the hang of it.  Thanks to Dr.BBQ for the sauce and rub recipes – those I’ll use again combined with Pig Lady’s spare ribs and a slightly different timing method…) The ribs were sticky and gooey however I managed to dry them out completely.  Edible? Yes, would I pay for them in a restaurant?  Probably.  Would I make the same mistakes again?  No way!

So there you are, not a perfect result but good enough to share and prompt myself and others to try this again.

Happy eating and Happy Birthday Cynthia!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PS – we then had a “Pimp my Peeps” contest for dessert – I liked Alex’s funeral theme (only a 13 year old would come up with something that morbid!)

In order or appearance:

  1. Peeps watching TV by Lucy
  2. Decapitating Kozak by Roman
  3. “See no Evil, Speak no Evil, Hear no Evil” by Cynthia
  4. A Peeps Funeral by Alex
  5. The Navy Seals raid on OBL Peep by Heather (really not sure where this one came from?!?!?)

    

6 thoughts on “Birthday Ribs for Cynthia!”

  1. There’s a variation of this recipe from Dr. BBQ where he cooks the ribs indirectly at 325 F for 90 minutes, brushes with honey, foils them with apple juice, and continues cooking for one more hour. The ribs are spectacular. I have tried this recipe many times to great success. I have also used the cooking method once in the recipe you mentioned and I didn’t like the results.

    1. Thanks for the note Norm – not a big fan of quick ribs – 90 minutes just seems way too little time to get them where they should be. Sorry the result wasn’t positive for you – the Fred Flintstone ribs take patience and practice, but the end result is wicked. Anyway, thanks for the comment and please send over your favorite recipes so we can give them a go! Cheers, R

      1. I’ve been thinking of doing a new recipe for ribs for a big Canada Day barbeque with family and your Fred Flinstone ribs sound great to serve! I don’t have the recipe for the dry rub by Righteous Urban Barbecue in New York and was wondering if you could post it or email it to me? I was hoping to do a practice run tomorrow. I’m still pretty much a newbie with it comes to recipes for the BGE but if I develop any I’ll be sure to send them over to you.

  2. I must have done something terribly wrong with this rib cooking. I followed the recipe including time, temp and ingredients exactly with one addition which might be the problem. I put a drip pan on top of the plate setter and added some water. I thought this would add some moisture but for some reason I got very chared ribs that were okay at best. Any ideas? Could adding the water have caused this problem? Is it possible to put too much rub on the ribs? Maybe they weren’t meaty enough?
    Any help or comments would be greatly appreciated.
    Mike

    1. Hi Mike, thanks for the comment, it’s always great to hear from people that try the recipes on the blog, even if they don’t turn out 100%. The short answer is ribs can be fickle! I’ve killed some wonderful slabs in the past the exact same way and what I found was that it was all about the cut of meat and the timing based on the cut rather than the technique. With thinner looking ribs, I’ll reduce the time by about an hour on the first stage.

      Looking back at the blog entry, I also messed up with this recipe and have found that if you really want a great rack of ribs, try the Canada Day Maple Ribs Recipe…I made them a few days ago and it reminded me that these were the best ribs I’ve made thus far. I also used skinnier ribs this time and cut the intial stage down by an hour. The ribs turned out to be magic.

      As with all things grilling, keep at it and try and try again. And thanks for the note, I appreciate it.

      Roman

Leave a Reply

